Michigan Reefers banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well I have been fighting Algae issues for a few months now on my 120gal tank which I believe was caused my a leak in my return pump on my calcium reactor which was leaching CO2 into my sump plus my drip rate causing an Algae bloom to the point I was so discouraged of my tank and due to time and lazyness I let it ride...

Last night I decided to clean things up.. I had removed my reactor for about a month now so last night I performed these tasks after the wife and daughter went to bed..

• removed several pieces of live rock from the tank and scrubbed them good removing Algae and placing them back into the tank
  • scrubbed,scrapped back,front & side walls
  • 30 gallon water drain from main tank to siphon some of the floating Algae
  • used a fish net to collect any floating particles from scrapping glass
  • cleaned all return lines, pumps & skimmer
  • replaced the 30 gallons I drained with 30 gallon water change (RO/DI)

I now will keep all light including sump light for 2-3 days.
I have to run to the LFS tomorrow and get more carbon so I can run that with weekly changes.

I am also going to perform another 30 gallon water change Friday and going to order a large Algae clean up crew.

Im hoping that with all this work I can get some good results as I have been slacking on my tank but want to get things back to normal...

·
Banned
1,916 Posts
Good luck to you and the tank - sounds like a frustrating task.

Keep us posted after the algae clean up.

Sounds like - you need to get the wet-dry shop vac................

Good night.

·
Registered
3,910 Posts