Michigan Reefers banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well my Reef Octopus NWM 250 is much more sensitive to water level changes than my Euro Reef. Of course it could be that the skimmer is 2 days old as well. But if it is this sensitive Im thinking it might be time for an ATO. The way my sump works is the last section is return pump and skimmer. It was one of those prebuilt acrylic ones from Pruess. If I knew then what I know now, I would have built my own. But that being said, the last section is where the water level fluctuates for top of. It maybe fluctuates 2 to 3 inches in an entire day. So what does everyone use for a budget friendly ATO. Im not having the desire to spend a couple hundred bucks on one. Just want a good simple one. Im assuming for all of them you have to buy like a maxijet 600 or something and a container? I have no experience with them, so any help would be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
2,479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thats the one I was looking at since you hear so much about it. But what do you need for a pump? Would a maxijet 600 work? Does it come with the plumbing for it that would hook up to a maxijet 600 or do I need to provide that too?

·
Registered
679 Posts
A maxijet 600 would be PERFECT. It's what pump I'm going use on it (just gotta pick it up). The only other thing you would need is tubing to go from resevior (hooked on the pump) to sump. It comes with directions to hook up the float switches, then you just get a pump, get some tubing and you're all set. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
679 Posts
If you were closer I'd say stop by and look, BUT you sound really far LOL. You'll love it, it's very simplistic and reliable.

·
Registered
123 Posts