Michigan Reefers banner
1 - 20 of 103 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My son got a xbox 360 for xmas and that's all he wants to do now. So I decided we should build somthing so why not a saltwater tank? We are building a 40gponinsala breeder with a 40g breeder sump. Im going to add pics and more info as I get more parts. Wish me luck and any ideas are welcome!

·
Registered
74 Posts
Great idea

Awesome idea, i'm excited to see the outcome! I have a 40 gallon as my show tank right now and a small refugium. I am fairly new to the game still so i will leave it to the experienced guys for the advice

·
Registered
207 Posts
Good plan

Had the same issues with my son, 9 years old and all he wanted to do was play with his PS3, all the sudden about 3 weeks ago he started really getting interested in my reef. Now he is addicted, just like me, he is looking through Live Aquaria or other places telling me what type of fish or coral he wants! Every day I get home he wants to go to a fish place, pretty cool really.

·
Registered
2,200 Posts
Sounds like a great idea. Are you building the tanks and all or purchasing prebuilt tanks? Whats the plan so far? I'm assuming your drilling the Display tank. Are you making a sump/ fuge? Custom lighting or manufacture? This will be a great project for you and your son. Is he excited about working on this with you and into saltwater?

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·