Michigan Reefers banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My tank is doing very well with LPS and softies. My phosphates are almost at zero but NOT at zero. I am debating on picking up a gfo reactor. I'm just getting into sps coral and need advice. What are the benefits of GFO reactor? I have a protein skimmer and refugium with chatoe. I also use R/O.

·
Registered
2,200 Posts
GFO in a reactor is best and will reduce your Phosphates to 0. Being you say you already have really low phosphates, this would take them the rest of the way down. The close your phosphates are to zero the better your corals will do especially SPS corals.

·
Registered
725 Posts
If you have good nutrient transport right now and no algae problems you can run without one but I think most of us run one, rather than test kits you can tell if your phosphates are high by how often your cleaning your glass. If it's more than once every three days than there elevated slightly, 4-6 days and your fine.

There are some other methods to reduce phosphates such as running a good skimmer and vodka/vinegar dosing.

I run gfo in a reactor and dose vinegar to help with nutrient transport.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have read posts about the vodka/vinegar technique but I am unfamiliar with it. I don't have any algae problem and clean my glass about every 4-5days. (Good visual identification of increased phosphates by the way). Do you recommend a certain brand? Tell me a little bit about the vodka/vinegar technique.

·
Registered
320 Posts
GFO in a reactor is best and will reduce your Phosphates to 0. Being you say you already have really low phosphates, this would take them the rest of the way down. The close your phosphates are to zero the better your corals will do especially SPS corals.