Michigan Reefers banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,040 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, this isn't anything terribly exciting but I thought I would share anyway.

I have been researching LED lighting for the past several months and decided that was what I wanted to do... replace my MH lighting and save save save on energy while being able to dial in the color spectrum and increase intensity. I have looked at pre-built and DIY and decided that DIY was definitely more within my price range and the customization potential is essentially endless.

But before I was to begin the built for my 180 reef, I thought it might be good to do a practice run... a light for my sump. I had a 65W pc fixture which was total overkill since I only need to grow caulerpa. And the bulb was long since expired so I thought why not give LED a try instead of replacing a pc bulb (which is nearly the same price as the LED build).

So... I bought the following from rapidled.com:

-power cord
-Mean Well LPC-35-700 constant current driver
-2 royal blue 3W CREE LEDs
-1 neutral white 3W CREE LED
-1 cool white 3W CREE LED
-water resistant wire nuts

Then I also bought some #18 stranded wire, soldering stuff, etc. My father in law custom made the heat sink (1.1" x 19") to fit across the frame of an 18" wide tank (sump). Also had it drilled and tapped to avoid using glue (just seems cleaner and easier for maintenance reasons). For everything, the unit was just over $30! Not bad at all and even cheaper than a small stunner strip by nearly half.

This was my first ever experience soldering and it was actually pretty easy. I was cautious to keep the tip clean and tinned. Got the LEDs pre-tinned in about 15 minutes... my first time, hence the long time! Emphasis was on doing it right, not doing it fast. Was able to tin the wires more quickly later on.