Michigan Reefers banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HELLO FORUMERS! I am brand new to the reef scene. This weekend i'll be picking up a 55 gallon tank that my dad has laying around not in use and beginning what i'm sure will be a long project. I have been reading anything i can find about setting up and starting a reef tank and all this absolutely fascinates me. My goal over the next month or so is to get all necessary components that i need to start getting water ready. I am trying to figure out what all i need and what each component does. LOTS TO LEARN! If anybody has some extra time to give me a crash course in what all i need in the way of electronics i would appreciate it greatly. I plan to go as slow as i need to so that i can create a perfect ecosystem for the future fish and coral. I don't have a very big budget to start with, just trying to keep the wife happy and start a new hobby, but i do understand short-cutting and buying crap will only set me back and cost me more money. I would appreciate any and all tips, tricks, or info anyone has for me. Thanks for reading! Hope to get some good info!

·
Registered
185 Posts
I started by checking out a book. The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide by Michael Paletta. TONS of informaion there. It'd be hard to do a step by step here, based on all the different methods, equiptment, and basic preference everyone uses here. This book has great basic fundementals to get you started. Or simply read the sticky posts at the top of this forum :)

·
Registered
2,218 Posts
Welcome to the hobby! This place is great for information. If you ever have questions on diff brands or forms of equipment, its no secret, we love to brag about our equipment. Lol. Ask away.

And +1 to the sticky threads.

·
Registered
235 Posts