Michigan Reefers banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· Registered
2,996 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this hobby, (as some of you know) and I just received a shipment of LR with absolutely beautiful corraline colors all over it. My concern is bleaching. I have been told by a friend that it is inevitable.[-banghead]
Can anyone please tell me what I need to do to minimize this happening. I would be very grateful for anyone to help me save my pretty rock from turning into a mess of white gunk!

Thanx in advance!

G

·
The diffence is just that. If your corraline is bleaching then check your alk and Calcium. If they are fine then think about adding strotnium to the tank. It also happens if the rock is out of the water and exposed to light. while minimal bleaching does occur it should not bleach commpletely. FOllow those parameters.

· Registered
1,150 Posts
I've heard that coraline colors are set up by lighting. The stronger the lights the lighter the color, the darker the lights the more deep the color. Low light tanks have lots of purples and such. Since you are not going to change your lighting just to make pretty coraline, I wouldn't worry about the bleaching. Throw the rock in and see what happens over 6 months.

G

·
Intense light will cause coralline to bleach out. For instance if you do a water change and repeatedly take out the same amount and expose the coralline to air and metal halide it will bleach.

· Registered
1,949 Posts
As long as you keep your Alk. and Calc. in order you shouldn't have any problem. I have bought cured and uncured rock that I ordered shipped directly to me and have never had a problem with the coriline bleaching. I have one tank with MH and one with PCs.

G

·
Again the limiting factors are thaAKL and CAlcium. Strotnium is also said to contribute to coraline growth. If you keep this high it should grow unless you have a tank full of clams and SPS sucking it up! my deam!

· Registered
996 Posts