Michigan Reefers banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have read very mixed things about having urchins in a reef tank. I was wondering what was some of your opinions and experiences were. I am just beginning reef keeping so pls be patient if I ask a lot of questions lol.

·
Registered
308 Posts
Urchins are cool little creatures and some can be a welcomed inhabitant to a reef aquarium. The term "Reef Safe" is a fluid term, and it can have many different meanings. It generally means that they wont eat coral or invertebrates.

This being said, most consume large amounts of algae that you may want, I.E. Coraline Algae... Also in my experience, they are worse bulldozers than turbo snails. For those two reasons, I choose not to keep one in my aquariums. The fact that they are venomous is also a good reason not to own one of these neat looking little creatures.

Now that I have posted the bad, hopefully some reefers who enjoy keeping them can come on and post the "Good"...

Happy Reefing!

·
Registered
2,217 Posts
Make sure you have enouh room for you urchin. I had a long spine. Bought him real small. Not to much later he was huge. Absolutely huge! Had to sell him back to the fish store. ( barely fit in the bottom of the 5 gal bucket i put him in.) :( my bangai cardinal loved that urchin. Ans so did i. They need alot of food and space. I actually made money off him but id rather have the urchin.

Sent from my Samsung Smartphone using Tapatalk. When I should be doing something more productive.

·
Registered
1,124 Posts