Michigan Reefers banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am setting up a 90 gallon tank and I am trying to decide how I want to set-up my refugium. I've read countless posts, but I want to "see" more pictures of successful refugiums.

So, if anyone has some pictures of refugiums/sumps, I would appreciate it as I am struggling to find a design.

Thanks

·
Registered
177 Posts
I'm also looking to make my first sump/fuge and your link will be a great help thanks for putting that up Tom ..
I may be bugging you in the near future..:D

·
Registered
738 Posts
I custom built my from a kit on Ebay, sounds kind of cheap, but it works awesome. They supplied the parts and I did the gluing. I couldn't find one with a big enough footprint for my skimmer. I have been running this one for about 6 months now and growing all kinds of goodies. I would recommend having a large return compartment compared to mine, due to evaporation. Good Luck

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks people. I have decided on my refugium setup. I am going to have the drain go directly into the "refugium" part of the refugium and put my skimmer in this same compartment as my return pump. I am then going to run the plumbing from the Euro Reef RS135 back into the refugium. Having this setup will give me significantly more area to have my sandbed, live rock, chaeto, and other biological filtration. I thought a serparate compartment containing just the skimmer was a waste of space. This setup was recommended to me by Steve at Pruess'.

blammomike, what are the dimensions of your refugium and what do you have in there for filtration?

PPi, your setup look very good!

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
carbon ,pro skimmer, uv,lots of mirco alage some live rock 5-6 cleaner clams,it is a CPR Aquafuge Pro,Recommended tank size: up to 120 gallons.
Water Capacity: 17 gallons
Dimensions: 31" x 12" x 14.5"

·
Registered
1,287 Posts
here's mine-