Michigan Reefers banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,523 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so currently I have a 24g Nano Cube that has just filled up to fast. Im new to the hobby.. going on a year. Im totaly into this and now it is time already to get a bigger tank (Didn't think it would come so soon...) I have not bought anything for the 90g yet, nor have i bought the tank because I am still looking.

My plans so far- I want a 90g+/- 10gallons, basicaly a 48" x 18-20" x 20-24" is what i've come up with so far. I'd like it to have an overflow and be drilled. I will have a refugium.. thinking 20g, is that good? In the 20g I would have the skimmer (NW octo 150, or? ), chaeto/LR/ possible sand bed, and return. That about covers that part. Now onto lights.. I don't know if i want to go MH or T5. Money is an issues (I say this because i cant aford the ferrari's of SW equip, hehe) im a full time college student and i work. I do want SPS tho and pretty much types of coral a mixed reef so to speek :).

Any suggestions, ideas or ways you would set up a 90g PLZ post and tell me about them. I have been researching but it is nice to get all the info refined to one section to make sure I dont forget anything.

Also I did just purches a 150w coralife halide for my nano cube that will be here wednesday. Problem being since that purchase I have decided I just need a bigger tank. So I might sell this for what I paid or incorporate it in the new tank somehow? altho If i go halide for a 90g, im sure i'd need 2, and pendants or something else would prolly be cheaper....

Picture of my current tank to give you an idea of what i have accomplished :cool:

Yes, that platecoral is dead on the bottom right, but loaded with babies!!! hehe

·
Registered
45 Posts
first off nice looking cube, i like all the different colors in there.

as far as lights for your 90, i just bought a 48 inch fixture from aquatraders.com