Michigan Reefers banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey fellow reefers! So I'm kinda new to the salty aquatic hobby but I can't really find a good estimate on how many fish I could safely put in my 90 gallon reef tank. As of right now I have the following:

2 bangaii cardinals
2 ocellaris clowns
1 fuzzy dwarf lion
1 snowflake eel
1 marine betta/ comet
A plethora of nassarius snails
A few cerith snails

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't know what the problem may be, the lionfish and eel keep to themselves and don't show any interest to the clowns or cardinals. Both are target trained and associate me as their main food source. I understand the target training may be a future risk on my behalf, getting stung or bitten, but that's the risk I take. Plus I have asked the wonderful people at fish doctors their opinions on the lion and eel. With assuming their educated opinion, have said that things should be fine then.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ok, given I will have To find a new home for the lion fish and eel. After said is done, back to the original question how many fish could I stock in the tank having clowns cardinals and a marine beta?

·
Registered
24 Posts
I've had a few dwarf lions now and it'd be a stretch for the dwarf to pursue an average-sized ocellaris or bengai cardinal as both are just a bit too large for the lion's mouth. That doesn't mean that it can't happen, though, especially if your clowns are on the smaller side or the lion ends up larger than usual.

The snowflake, however, will likely try to get the smaller fish at some point. It may not eat them but I wouldn't be surprised to see it attack one at least once.

·
Registered
5,853 Posts
I'd rehome the eel and the lion...sooner or later they will try to get the fish. Lions have been known to try eat fish nearly the same size as themselves.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·