Michigan Reefers banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to SW, I have a FOWLR –F. I purchased a 45g that was previously setup for 8 years, moved it 15 miles and had water over the rocks within 2 hours, kept the sand and did not scrape algea on sides and back didn’t want to lose coralline algea which later died/fell off glass. I have cleaned both HOB filters twice due to inserts clogging. Running 3 power heads, skimmer and HOB refuge.

Tank has been setup for 25 days, added cleanup crew week ago, started running lights 10 hrs (130w) for 3 days. Had a black moly in there for a week but he died. I have tested the water with standard SW kit and all readings are zero. (sorry if to much info)

Q: Will this tank cycle? I have gotten mixed answers.
Q: Using city water, I live in ypsi but believe the water comes from Detroit and is of good quality, former tank owner used city water also. Will this be ok or should I use RO? Cannot afford RO unit at this time.

·
Registered
5,853 Posts
R/O will help you avoid algae problems down the road. If its been 25 days, you likely had the cycle. The rock out of the water for two hours will cause a tank to cycle again. Was the molly acclimated to saltwater? How is the cleanup crew doing?

·
Registered
5,853 Posts
No, was the molly acclimated to salt water? Mollys are freshwater fish that can be transitioned to saltwater but if I'm not mistaken it takes days to transition them. Mollys are rarely kept in saltwater today - they used to be used all the time to cycle tanks but no one should cylce a tank with live fish anymore. Did your lfs recommend it?

·
Registered
2,020 Posts