Michigan Reefers banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello once again im a newbie sorry for all the questions but im just trying to gain knowledge . what kind of lights would u recommend for a 55 gallon flatback hex acrylic tank for reef please all comments are welcome

·
Registered
2,194 Posts
I would suggest thoroughly researching coral before trying to keep any of them. Having a fish only is more than enough for most new to saltwater people, fish are far more forgiving than coral with a lot of the newbie mistakes. If you want to try a few corals once you get in the swing of things with fish there are a few corals that you can grow under normal output flourescent lights in the right spectrum. Then after that for the most part you need lighting that is specially made for growing corals. But light is only the begining to a successful coral tank. It is one of if not the most important aspect for long term success in a reef tank. Two or four T5HO 54 watt 46.5" bulbs in the right spectrum would be a good place to start for your size tank. Two bulbs would grow a lot of the soft corals and corallimorphs, and a fair number of the large polyp stony corals. Four bulbs would grow just about anything you wanted to have in there if all the other needed elements of a proper habbitat were in place.

LED is the new craze, if you have the money 120 watts or so of LED evenly distributed with 60 or 90 degree lenses would be great for your size tank. Prolly run $200 or so for a decent fixture... I would suggest you find one that has roughly a 48% white/ 48% Blue/ 2% Green/ 2% Red bulb ratio.