Michigan Reefers banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
925 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it better to spend the extra money on a pre-built sump/fuge or try and save a couple extra bucks and build it yourself?

I ask because I am really unhappy with the sump that I currently have and want to rip it out and start over (plumbing and all)!!

I found this sump/fuge this morning and it looks nice and should meet my needs, but holy smokes on the price.

http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merc...ROD&Product_Code=TS36BR&Category_Code=CprSump

Also, is it better to have a sump and a seperate fuge??? The only space I have is under my 120 gallon tank so I have limited room (48"L x 24"W x 36"H). If the fuge is eliminated, I have also seen these sumps (minus the bio balls)

http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merc...D&Product_Code=AG-19015&Category_Code=CprSump

I am not good with plastics or glass so making one on my own would be difficult at best. I would need to hire someone to help me, which in the end would it just be better to buy one already build and save the time and headache.

What do you think? Any ideas?

·
Banned
1,916 Posts
If you want - I can help you build one - here at my house.

No charge - just buy the materials and glass tank, we can drill it out and build it custom to your tank.

Let me know, your about 1 hour and 15 minutes away.

Have a good day.

·
Registered
925 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wow! That would be great! Is there a place near you to buy the materials?

I only ask becuase I'm not sure the dimensions that I would need (baffles width and height) and would need your assistance.

Thanks!

·
Banned
1,916 Posts
Yeah, There's a glass company here in town, I dealt with - so the materials are all available.

Let me know what you have in mind - and what we are dealing with.

PM me and we talk and get the ball rolling.

Alex

G

·