Michigan Reefers banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,991 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone.

I currently don't have a calcium reactor, and always see other people with them running in their systems. I am apprehensive to add something to my system I am unfamiliar with and would like to get someone to "break it down" for me lol. I assume others could benefit from this information as well.

I definitely don't need an elementary explanation, but I'm also not a chemist by trade, so try and make the explanations "user friendly" (it seems as one person will always try to use every technical term in their arsenal, even when they are well aware that nobody is going to understand what the **** they just said) so please, don't be that person on this thread.

My basic questions are:

1. Why are they used as opposed to just dosing with the liquid chemicals?

2. Roughly, how do they work?

3. What are the drawbacks (if any)?

4. What tanks are they a "must for" (growing Sps?), and what types of tanks are they optional?, and what types of tanks not recommended? (never saw one on a nano?)

Finally,

5. What brand reactor and media do you recommend?

I really appreciate the time and effort anyone takes to answer these questions!

·
Premium Member
2,479 Posts
My basic questions are:

From my experience people use them so that the addition of chemicals is constant, and smooth. No sudden spikes when chems are added. Plus no mixing or anything, it does it automatically. Also since they are dissolving coral skeletons, the ratios of calc, mag, alk, and so on are pretty darn perfect. Plus if you are adding a lot of liquid chems, its most likely cheaper to run a reactor.